That Sounds Like Chelle

a blog about…whatever. Enjoy!

new hair, restored enthusiasm

leave a comment »

it’s funny how a slight change to your hairstyle can restore your enthusiasm.

 

Winter is in full swing here in Pennsylvania and i was in a wash ‘n go slump. Sure i knew which combination of hair products would work best for me with that style, but when you consider the added length that i’ve grown by staying away from the clippers and a couple of days where the temperatures have barely reached 20 degrees, i started to realize that a wet head every morning wasn’t cutting it. 

 

so what to do??  the obvious answer according to style sites and the pictures that i admire would be to adopt to bantu knots or twist-outs….the problem was that i had tried these techniques in the past with DISASTROUS end results. it would’ve been so easy to give up, straighten my hair and go back to my straightened style. But instead [motivated by my best friend who is also dealing with her own hair “dilemmas”], i decided to try the 2 strand twist-outs again…and again…and again.

 

I dedicate random weekends to my “hair experiments”.  This way if i’m looking a hot mess, I don’t have to be in the presence of my coworkers.  It’s no shocker that my 1st attempt sucked. My 2nd attempt wasn’t much better, but the key thing to note is that it was indeed an improvement!  The 3rd attempt gave me the confidence to switch up my pre-work week routine and dare to venture into the office on Monday with the use of my new technique. I’m sooo happy to say that 2 stand twist outs are FINALLY a success for me and I finally have a new go-to style with a renewed sense of enthusiasm!  

 

I guess the point that I’m trying to stress here is that nobody wakes up with a perfectly styled head of natural hair.  While styling may be 2nd nature for some, I’d venture to say that the majority of you are in the same boat as me – it takes PRACTICE and PATIENCE to get your hair – natural or not – to look good.  Just know that the end result will be so rewarding. 

 

Have any of you triumphed over styling slumps?  Please share!

Written by chelle

February 9, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a comment